Home  >  Articles  >  Truck Drivers’ Required Licenses

Truck Drivers’ Required Licenses

Every 18-wheeler driver in the nation is required to have the appropriate licensing to transport cargo in the United States via these large vehicles. Obtaining a commercial driver’s license (CDL) is much more difficult that obtaining a normal driver’s license, as there is not only a variety of different classes, but they also require drivers to meet certain stipulations.

Required License Classifications

In order to operate 18-wheelers or any large vehicles, truck drivers must obtain a federal license specific to their cargo. Without these licenses and their additional testing, there can be dangerous accidents on the road caused by unsafe and unprepared truck drivers. There are three types of classifications for these large vehicles, including:

  • Class A: vehicles weighing between 26,001 and 10,001 lbs.
  • Class B: vehicles weighting 10,000 lbs. or less
  • Class C: vehicles that do not fit under A and B, but intend to carry hazardous materials or 16 plus passengers

Drivers wanting to operate any vehicle that falls in these three classifications must obtain a CDL specifically for that vehicle. Furthermore, states such as Texas may have additional stipulations that may require additional testing.

Learn More about License Violations in Texas

These licenses and their classifications are in place to keep unsafe and unprepared drivers from operating large vehicles. Unfortunately, many people are victims of truck accidents with drivers that do not have the proper licensing. To learn more about the legal options available in a situation where a truck driver has seriously violated these laws and caused undue harm, fill out the contact form at the top of this page.